Each year, the World Soundtrack Academy nominates five outstanding new Composers for the ‘Discovery of the Year’ Award. It turns out to be a very prophetic award, as many of the winners have gone on to be successful film composers and in the case of a few, the biggest composers working today. Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher explains; “If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards, where composers like Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong and Abel Korzeniowski were acknowledged by our Advisory Board early on in their careers.”

Also, along with those huge names above, last years ‘Discovery of the Year’ Award winner; Daniel Pemberton, who has already began a successful career, is going to be honoured at the awards along with Alan Silvestri and Patrick Doyle, as his music is being performed from his recent film scores such as ‘The Man From U.N.C.L.E’ and ‘Steve Jobs.’

This years nominees are as follows:

– Alex Ebert for ‘A Most Violent Year.’

– Dominic Lewis for ‘Spooks: The Greater Good.’

– Antonio Sanchez for ‘Birdman.’

– Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow for ‘Ex Machina.’

– Zhiyi Wang for ‘But Always’ & ‘Highway of Love.’

The World Soundtrack Awards will take place in Ghent, Belgium on the 24th of October. Tickets for the awards and any of the surrounding events can be found here. If you would like more information about the World Soundtrack Awards, including the lists of nominees from the other categories such as ‘Composer of the Year’ then everything you need to know can be found on their website here.

Posted by Lee Allen

Film and Television Score enthusiast. Podcast Host at Bombad Radio. World traveller.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of