The World Soundtrack Academy just released a second wave of nominees for Discovery of the Year, the SABAM Award for Best Young International Composer and Public Choice Award. Last month the nominees for Best Film Composer, Best TV Composer and Best Original Song were revealed. The WSAwards aim at supporting film music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. Over the past 16 years the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international professionals nominating through several rounds of voting. Last year we were fortunate to interview Alan Silvestri and Patrick Doyle at the WSA’s 15th edition.

I very much agree with Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher who points out that “if you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards, where composers such as Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong, Abel Korzeniowski and Daniel Pemberton were acknowledged early on in their careers.”

Nominations discovery of the year

The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who have scored not more than six feature films (commercially released in theatres) in total. Besides receiving the award, the winner will perform at the 17th WSAwards in 2017. The nominees for Discovery of 2016 are:

Read also:  Bear McCreary: A composer ahead of his time
Read also:  Moonlight Soundtrack by Nicholas Britell released
Read also:  Bear McCreary's soundtrack for 'Outlander: Season 2' available online

SABAM Award for best young composer

Each year young film music talent is given the chance to receive the SABAM Award For Best Young Composer (with a value of €2.500). The candidates were instructed to compose music for the opening titles of British TV series ‘The Saint’, starring Roger Moore, in the context of the focus on Television Music this year. The professional jury consists of Patrick Duynslaegher (Artistic Director Film Festival Gent), Dirk Brossé (composer, conductor and Music Director Film Festival Gent), Stefan Rycken (manager ACE Image Factory), Hans Helewaut (Managing director SABAM) and director Eshref Reybrouck (‘Marsman’,‘Cordon’).

The 3 finalists are:

Public Choice Award

At the 16th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, the winner of the Public Choice Award for the Best Score of the Year will be announced. These are the 5 scores that were most voted for:

About the 16th World Soundtrack Awards

16th World Soundtrack Awards Gala takes place on Wednesday 19 October 2016 at Capitole Ghent Central. Attending guests include Ryuichi SakamotoJeff Russo [who will personally play the drums during the live performance of Rye’s theme (Fargo) as he told us at Soundtrack_Cologne], Jeff Beal [who will play trumpet live on stage], Sean Callery [who will also perform live], John Lunn, Alex Heffes, Daniel Pemberton and many more!

As previously announced, The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Ryuichi Sakamoto, following the festival’s spotlight on Japanese cinema. A selection of his and the TV composers’ work will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic and the Flemish Radio Choir, conducted by Dirk Brossé.

The following day, a TV music concert, including both classic and contemporary TV-tunes, all performed by Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé, is organized on Thursday 20 October 2016.

Tickets for the 16th World Soundtrack Awards are available at and You can also follow the World Soundtrack Awards playlist on Spotify! The official hashtags for the event are #WSAwards and #FFGent

Posted by Peter F. Ebbinghaus

Based in Berlin, Germany. Co-Founder & Editor-in-Chief. Music Producer at Eon Sounds Productions. Founder of Composers for Relief. Keeps Moving.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of