Lakeshore Records will release the BLACK MIRROR: SAN JUNIPEROOriginal Soundtrack digitally on December 2, 2016. The album contains the episode’s original music by Clint Mansell (REQUIEM FOR A DREAM, BLACK SWAN). For every fan of the series or Mansell, there’s not much to add to getting you excited. If you are unsure if it is for you, definitely have a listen to track number eight when the soundtrack is released next week: The piece of music is called Waves Crashing On Distant Shores Of Time and is my absolute favourite from the album, in the very same vein as many of the wonderful, deeply melancholic moments that turned the first two seasons into something so very special.

Black Mirror | Official Trailer – Season 3 [HD] | Netflix

About Black Mirror


Clint Mansell’s soundtrack for Black Mirror: San Junipero will be out on December 2nd.

If you haven’t heard about BLACK MIRROR yet, you definitely have to catch up on it. BLACK MIRROR is a sci-fi anthology series that explores a twisted, high-tech near-future where humanity’s greatest innovations and darkest instincts collide. The series, which debuted in the UK in 2011 on Channel 4, with a second season airing in 2013, developed a cult following both in the UK and, through streaming on Netflix, all around the world. On October 21, 2016 Netflix debuted the six-episode third season.  This season featured an amazing array composers including Max Richter (Nosedive), Bear McCreary (Playtest), Alex Heffes (Shut Up and Dance), Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow (Men Against Fire), and Martin Phipps (Hated In The Nation).

Composed by Clint Mansell, the fourth episode, San Junipero, takes place in a seaside town in 1987. A shy young woman and an outgoing party girl strike up a powerful bond that seems to defy the laws of space and time.

If you would like to know more about the storylines in BLACK MIRROR season 3, you can watch a video by Variety below:

'Black Mirror' Interview at TIFF

Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Mackenzie Davis, Bryce Dallas Howard, and other Black Mirror stars on how Season 3 storylines are "within the realms of possibility."Variety Studio at TIFF Presented by Airbnb

Posted by Variety on Wednesday, 23 November 2016

About composer Clint Mansell

As front man of Pop Will Eat Itself, Clint Mansell released seven albums between 1987 & 1996, and notched up 11 Top 40 hits. The band splintered at their peak to pursue various side projects. A chance introduction to Darren Aronofsky in NYC led to Clint’s film score debut, the acclaimed independent movie, Pi (1998). This director-composer union continued with Aronofsky’s ambitious follow-up, Requiem for a Dream (2000). Mansell’s unique approach to composing combined with the success and acclaim of these scores quickly made him an in-demand composer, and prompted his move to Los Angeles. Mansell’s creation of the soundtrack for Aronofsky’s third film, The Fountain (2006) earned him his first Golden Globe Nomination (Best Original Score). Reuniting with Kronos Quartet and bringing in Scottish post-rockers Mogwai, it was also the work that received two awards at 2007’s World Soundtrack Awards (Best Original Score & Public Choice Award), among other plaudits.

Read also:  World Soundtrack Award winners announced - Ryuichi Sakamoto received Lifetime Achievement Award

In addition to his long standing director/composer collaboration with Aronofsky, Mansell has kept his options broad – seeking out projects from dark independent movies to more mainstream affairs such as Smoking’ Aces (2007) and Sahara (2005), Doom (2005) and Definitely Maybe (2008). On the other side of the spectrum, Clint provided the score for Duncan Jones’ award winning directorial debut Moon (2009) and Massy Tadjedin’s Last Night (2010). Filth (2013), the film adaptation of Irvine Welsh’s novel, directed by Jon S Baird, starring James McAvoy was also scored by Mansell. Most recently Clint has completed the score for Ben Wheatley’s take on J G Ballard’s HIGH RISE, which premiered at Toronto International Film Festival was released in early 2016.

All three seasons of BLACK MIRROR are currently viewable on Netflix. Lakeshore Records will release the BLACK MIRROR: SAN JUNIPEROOriginal Soundtrack digitally on December 2, 2016. The label previously released the BLACK MIRROR: MEN AGAINST FIRE soundtrack, composed by Ben Salisbury and Geoff Barrow last month. It is available on iTunes and you can listen to a preview below:

Posted by Peter F. Ebbinghaus

Based in Berlin, Germany. Co-Founder & Editor-in-Chief. Music Producer at Eon Sounds Productions. Founder of Composers for Relief. Keeps Moving.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of