Lakeshore Records will release THE PROMISE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on April 21st and on CD June 2, 2017. The album features the film’s original score by Academy Award-winning composer Gabriel Yared (THE ENGLISH PATIENT, A ROYAL AFFAIR), with the original song “The Promise” written and performed by Multi-Grammy® Award-winning and Golden Globe nominated singer/songwriter Chris Cornell, and an exclusive version of the Armenian folk song “Sari Siroun Yar” by Grammy Award-winning Serj Tankian performing with the Authentic Light Orchestra (feat. Veronika Stalder).

The Promise Official Trailer 1 (2016) – Christian Bale Movie

It is 1914. As the Great War looms, the vast Ottoman Empire is crumbling. Constantinople (Istanbul), its once vibrant, multicultural capital is about to be consumed by chaos. Michael Boghosian (Oscar Isaac), arrives in the cosmopolitan hub as a medical student determined to bring modern medicine back to Siroun, his ancestral village in Southern Turkey where Turkish Muslims and Armenian Christians have lived side by side for centuries.

Photo-journalist Chris Myers (Christian Bale), has come here only partly to cover geo-politics. He is mesmerized by his love for Ana (Charlotte le Bon), an Armenian artist he has accompanied from Paris after the sudden death of her father. When Michael meets Ana, their shared Armenian heritage sparks an attraction that explodes into a romantic rivalry between the two men even as Michael hangs on to a promise from his past. After the Turks join the war on the German side, the Empire turns violently against its own ethnic minorities. Despite their conflicts, everyone must find a way to survive — even as monumental events envelope their lives.

Read also:  Stronger soundtrack by Michael Brook out soon

“I was born in Lebanon, and during my childhood all my friends, musicians and artists were Armenian. It was a great treat to work with Terry George on such a delicate and essential topic,” said Yared.

“If it’s something you or your family members went through, it’s something you’re faced with confronting on a daily basis,” said Cornell.

Oscar-winning composer Gabriel Yared is one of the most well respected and renowned composers in film. Most notably, Yared won an Academy Award for his score to Anthony Minghella’s The English Patient, which also won him a BAFTA, Golden Globe and Grammy Award. Born in Beirut, Yared was originally known for his work in French cinema, starting with Jean-Luc Godard, and later composed the score for Betty Blue, directed by Jean-Jacques Beineix. He also composed ballet music for works such as Clavigo for The Paris Opera, and Wayne McGregor’s Raven Girl for the Royal Opera Ballet. More recently, he scored Xavier Dolan’s sixth feature film, Juste la fin du monde (It’s Only the End of the World), which won the Grand Prix at Cannes Film Festival in 2016. He is currently working on the score for Dolan’s next film, The Death and Life of John F. Donovan, starring Jessica Chastain, Kit Harington, Susan Sarandon, Kathy Bates, and Michael Gambon.


  1. Voyage to Constantinople – Gabriel Yared
  2. Kach Nazar’s Dance (Kotchari) [Traditional] – Ara Malikian
  3. Promenade – Gabriel Yared
  4. Ana Invites Michael – Gabriel Yared
  5. Exodus – Gabriel Yared
  6. Gohanamk – Liparit Avetisyan & The Hover Choir
  7. Labor Camp – Gabriel Yared
  8. Way Home – Gabriel Yared
  9. Ana and Michael – Gabriel Yared
  10. Confession – Gabriel Yared
  11. Leaving Refugee Camp – Gabriel Yared
  12. Massacre – Gabriel Yared
  13. Going up the Mountain – Gabriel Yared
  14. Ana Comforts Michael – Gabriel Yared
  15. Mourning – Gabriel Yared
  16. Sari Siroun Yar – Serj Tankian and the Authentic Light Orchestra (feat. Veronika Stalder)
  17. The Promise – Chris Cornell
Read also:  Ghost in the Shell OST: Lorne Balfe releases first tracks online

Open Road Films presents THE PROMISE in theatres on April 21, 2017.  Lakeshore Records will release THE PROMISE – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack digitally on April 21, and on CD June 2, 2017.

Posted by Peter F. Ebbinghaus

Based in Berlin, Germany. Co-Founder & Editor-in-Chief. Music Producer at Eon Sounds Productions. Founder of Composers for Relief. Keeps Moving.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of