The prestigious World Soundtrack Awards not only focus on the already well-established, not to say legendary composers of our time but also on the up and coming ones. This year, the 17th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards will take place on 18 October 2017 at ‘Capitole’ in Ghent, Belgium, and is calling for entries for their ‘Discovery of the Year’ as well as ‘SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer’ competitions.

WSA: Discovery of the Year

Every year, the Advisory Board of the World Soundtrack Academy chooses a ‘Discovery of the Year’ to celebrate emerging film composing talent. Famous composers as Klaus Badelt, Antonio Pinto, Craig Armstrong, Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Nico Muhly, Abel Korzeniowski, Alex Heffes, Dan Romer, Daniel Pemberton and last year’s Joe Kraemer were discovered by the WSA Advisory Board.

The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who at the current WSA eligibility deadline (June 30, 2017), have scored not more than six feature films in total (excluded are shorts, TV-formats & documentaries), which have had a commercial theatrical release in at least two countries. To qualify as an eligible score, the motion picture for which the score was composed/produced has to receive its world première screening between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017.

Deadline: June 15th. More info.

WSA: SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer

Young film music talent will have another chance to win the highly sought after “SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer”. Candidates will be asked to compose music for an extract of the award-winning movie ‘Il Conformista’ (1970) with original music composed by George Delerue.

The three finalists will be invited to a fantastic three-day film music programme in Ghent where they will have the opportunity to meet important people of the film & television music industry. The compositions of the three finalists will be performed live by Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé during the presentations of the World Soundtrack Awards on 18 October 2017. Afterwards, the winner, who gets the prize of 2.500 euro, will be announced.

Candidates must be under the age of 36The rules for the composition contest can be found here.

Registrations will be accepted until 14 July 2017 via this link. The cover image shows Sándor Török, winner of the SABAM Award for Best Young International Composer in 2016 © Jerroen Willems.

Posted by Peter F. Ebbinghaus

Based in Berlin, Germany. Co-Founder & Editor-in-Chief. Music Producer at Eon Sounds Productions. Founder of Composers for Relief. Keeps Moving.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of