The Hollywood Music in Media Awards (HMMA) announced today a “bake-off” list in the TV categories of song and score. The HMMA nominations have historically been representative of the nominees of key awards shows that are announced months later.  Music nominees are chosen in specific genres for films including dramatic feature, Sci-Fi Fantasy, documentary and animation. Two years ago, the Golden Globe nominees for score matched the HMMA’s selections.  This past year, and months before the Oscar nominations, song and score nominees virtually matched Oscars including HMMA song winner “City of Stars” from LA LA LAND by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.  For the HMMA bakeoff Oscar winners Pasek & Paul are competing for TV song from CW’s “The Flash” against contenders including documentary songwriters’ Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross for NatGeo’s “Before The Flood” as well as Alan Zachary and Michael Weiner for ABC’s “Once Upon A Time.” Score contenders include Discovery Channel’s “Sonic Sea,” NatGeo’s  “Genius,” “The Crown,”  “Feud”  and more.  Many legendary film composers are contenders for TV projects including Hans Zimmer, Gustavo Santaolala, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Thomas Newman   This marks the first year that the HMMAs have recognized TV contenders prior to the Emmys.

According to HMMA Executive Producer Brent Harvey, “the judging panel is made up of journalists, composers, songwriters, music supervisors, along with music executives from film, TV and videogames; they continue to be a barometer for contenders in other award shows. Since the eligibility period is still open for HMMAs and others will be added, the contenders have not been cut down to a few nominees, but we wanted to publicly share our ‘bake-off’ list.  We are proud that HMMA nominees represent visual music from around the world including Spain, UK, Argentina, France, Norway and Australia.”   The 2017 HMMA event will be held Thursday, November 16, 2017 at The Avalon 1735 N. Vine Street, Hollywood, CA 90028.  For more information visit

The HMMA includes presentations, performances and a special achievement award.  The HMMA recognizes musical excellence in visual media as well as an individual who has made a significant impact in music or the music community.  Past honorees include Smokey Robinson, Glen Campbell, Dave Mason, Christopher Young and John Debney.  Past HMMA performances have included Melissa Manchester, a choir performing ‘Til it Happens To You from The Hunting Ground, Birdman performed by composer Antonio Sanchez, and The New Radicals founding members Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisboise performing their song Lost Stars from the film Begin Again.  All these films later garnered Oscar and/or Golden Globe music nominations.  Presenters have included Verdine White of Earth, Wind and Fire, Gilby Clarke of Guns n’ Roses, award-winning songwriter Stephen Bishop, actor Eric Roberts, Adam Gaynor of Matchbox 20 and director Andy Fickman.

The HMMA is the only award that specifically recognizes music in all visual media. The HMMA nominations are selected by an advisory board and selection committee which includes journalists, music executives, songwriters and composers.  The winners are determined by music-media industry professionals comprised of select members of the Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL), The Television Academy, the AMPAS Music Branch, NARAS, performing rights organizations, film music journalists, and music executives.



Matthew de Luca | Neil de Luca (The Last Alaskans)

Mac Quayle (Mr. Robot)

Dhani Harrison | Paul Hicks (Outsiders)

Laura Karpman | Raphael Saadiq (Underground)

Eskmo (13 Reasons Why)

Jason Moran (13th)

Mateo Messina (Harley and the Davidsons)

Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans (Amanda Knox)

Amin Bhatia, Ari Posner (Anne With an E)

James S. Levine (Bloodline)

Grouplove, Jesse Novak (BoJack Horseman)

Kris Bowers (Dear White People)

Jeremy Turner (Five Came Back)

Sam Phillips (Gilmore Girls)

Amotz Plessner (Haters Back Off)

  1. Scott Salinas (Ivory Game)

Lyle Workman (Crashing)

Ali Shaheed Muhammad, Adrian Younge (Luke Cage)

Gabriel Isaac Mounsey, Tom Tykwer, Johnny Klimek (Sense8)

Kyle Dixon, Michael Stein (Stranger Things)

Blake Neely (The Keepers)

Patrick Jonsson (White Helmets)

Rupert Gregson-Williams (The Crown)

Mateo Messina (Graves)

Meshell Ndegeocello (Queen Sugar)

Lorne Balfe (Genius)

John D. Boswell (Origins: The Journey of Humankind)

Warren Ellis (MARS)

Trent Reznor | Atticus Ross | Gustavo Santaolalla | Mogwai (Before the Flood)

David Buckley (Killing Reagan)

Michael Gatt (Blood Drive)

Adam Taylor (The Handmaid’s Tale)

Cris Velasco (Dimension 404)

Rael Jones (Harlots)

Dustin O’Halloran (Transparent)

Jason Derlatka | Jon Ehrlich (Goliath)

Dominik Scherrer (Ripper Screet)

Atli Örvarsson (Chicago Justice)

Siddhartha Kholsa (This Is Us)

Trevor Morris (Emerald City)

Mike Suby (Famous in Love)

Mark Isham (Once Upon a Time)

Blake Neely (Riverdale)

Alex Wurman – (Patriot)

Evgueni and Sacha Galperine (The Wizard of Lies)

Paul Francis – (Legends of the Hidden Temple)

Kevin Kliesch – (Tangled Ever After)

Bear McCreary – (Agents of Shield), (Black Sails), (The Walking Dead)

David Schwartz – (The Good Place)

Tyler Bates – (Samurai Jack)

Dominik Scherrer – (The Missing)

Clinton Shorter – ( The Expanse), (Colony)

Jesse Voccia – (Bosch)

Heitor Pereira – (Sonic Sea)

Christophe Lennertz – (Supernatural)

Matteo Messina – (Harley & The Davidsons)

David Russo (Gotham)

Jeff Russo (Legion)

Mark Isham (American Crime)

Lisa Coleman & Wendy Melvoin (Shades of Blue)



Letter to the Free” (13th) Written & Performed by Common

In America” (Underground) by John Legend & Dave Tozer, Performed by John Legend

Fall Into Me” (Black Mirror) Written & Performed by Alev Lenz

Bulletproof Love” (Luke Cage) Written & Performed by Method Man

Our Love Is On Wings” (MST3K) Written by Joel Hodgson, Elliott Kalan & Robert Lopez, Performed by Kinga Forrester, Neville Laroy and Max

Set Me Free” (The Get Down) Written by Louie Rubio, Alexander Shultz, Raja Kumari, Elliott Wheeler & Baz Luhrmann. Performed by Herizen Guardiola

The Other Side” (The Get Down) Written by Nas, Performed by Alessia Cara

Runnin’ Home To You” (The Flash) Written by Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, Performed by Grant Gustin

We Can Always Come Back To This” (This is Us) Written by Siddhartha Kholsa & Chris Pierce, Performed by Ron Cephas Jones

This Isn’t Love” (School of Rock) Written by Gabriel Mann & Jeannie Lurie, Performed by School of Rock cast.

Til the Angel Comes” (Rosewood) by Gabriel Mann & Rebecca Kneubuhl, Performed by Rosewood cast (Feat. Gabriel Mann)

Power” (The Get Down) by Elliott Wheeler, Baz Luhrmann, Homer Steinweiss, Donna Missal, performed by Donna Missal and Travis Jones (Netflix)

I Go Looney” (Batman: The Killing Joke) by Michael McCuistion, Lolita Ritmanis & Kristopher Carter, Performed by Mark Hamill (Amazon)

Powerful Magic” (Once Upon a Time) Written by Alan Zachary and Michael Weiner, Performed by Ginnifer Goodwin & Josh Dallas

A Minute to Breathe” Trent Reznor | Atticus Ross (Before the Flood) performed by Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross


Main Title Theme

Thomas Newman (Five Came Back)

Amotz Plessner (Haters Back Off)

Trevor Morris (Marvel’s Iron Fist)

Ali Shaheed Muhammad | Adrian Younge (Marvel’s Luke Cage)

Michael Stein (Stranger Things)

Elliott Wheeler (The Get Down)

Blake Neely (The Keepers)

Rostam Batmanglij (The OA)

Hans Zimmer | Lorne Balfe (Genius)

Meshell Ndegeocello (Queen Sugar)

John D. Boswell (Origins: The Journey of Humankind)

Mac Quayle (Feud)

Posted by Peter F. Ebbinghaus

Based in Berlin, Germany. Co-Founder & Editor-in-Chief. Music Producer at Eon Sounds Productions. Founder of Composers for Relief. Keeps Moving.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of